Press Releases

September 9th, 2011
Timmerman, Hillegeer, Faro and Bradshaw Spencer Champs

(Williamson, NY) Championship contests were settled in the final events at Spencer Speedway last Friday night.  In the Sunoco Modifieds, Kevin Timmerman successfully defended his title with two second place finishes.  Kris Hillegeer recorded a solid top five finish to lock up the Super Stock crown.  Tim Faro topped the strong field of Super Six competitors to claim his first Spencer Speedway title.  Mike Bradshaw added the Auto Value Scorpion championship trophy to his collection.

The Sunoco Modified 35 lap feature (rained out the prior week) showcased a season long effort that culminated in victory for Dave Catalano.  The pilot of the pj54 modified took off from the front row and built an early lead.  Erich Stritzel and Andy Lewis were early challengers as Catalano held the point.  Amy Catalano, Mike Leaty, and Kevin Timmerman joined the chase.  Without error, Dave Catalano took home the victory over Timmerman, Andy Lewis, Amy Catalano and Mike Leaty.  As in the majority of the races on this night, there were few cautions to slow the racing action.

After a full card of qualifying events, feature action began with the Auto Value Scorpion 4-cylinder feature.  Kevin Bertolone added another victory to his credit by besting the fourteen car field.  Dave Bradshaw would pester Bertolone for the entire distance, never far behind the high charging Bertolone.   Zach Willis, Beth Dennie, and Bro Bradshaw had their own battle while racing for top five honors.  Young Austin Montgomery ran very strong, just missing out on a top five finish.  Champion Mike “Iceman” Bradshaw ran mid-pack most of the night, finally nailing down a ninth place result.

Super Stock racing has seen many winners this season.  Kris Hillegeer had the best record and nailed down the championship with a solid top five run in the feature.  Willie Strusz prevailed in a hard nosed battle in the main event.  Challengers Mitchell Wright, Billy Gleason, Tom Fecteau, Hillegeer, and Tommy Catalano battled to the checkers.  Two quick cautions punctuated the event, each for simple spins.

Some of the most intense racing is produced by the Super Six division.  The front wheel drive V6 sedans are closely matched.  In a non-stop event, Brandon Allen led the first lap until Gates pilot Brian Hallett took command of the event.  Chris Andolino came from fifth on the starting grid to earn second spot at the checkers.  Brandon added another solid run to lead Van Grant and Adam VanHall in the top five spots.  Tim Faro wound up sixth in the final rundown, locking up the season’s honors.

Daryl Lewis, Jr. took the lead at the drop of the green flag in the Sunoco Modified 100 lap event.  Mike Leaty made a hard early charge to take command on lap four.  From there, Leaty drove like a man possessed, building a quarter lap lead before an early lap twelve spin by Andy Jankowiak.  The restart on lap fifteen saw Mike Leaty again pulling away from the field.  The extended green flag period to lap seventy nine allowed Leaty to lap up into the top ten.  School teacher Scott Combs rocketed off turn three into the darkness.  “I did not hit the tree,” added Scott.  “I did happen to find a drainage ditch, though”. Combs will now be known as Scott “The Explorer” Combs.  Leaty did not let the interruption spoil his determination, leading the field to the checkers.  Eddie Hawkins crossed the line in second spot, but fell to the post race inspection.  That passed the runner-up spot to champ Kevin Timmerman, followed by close competition from Jimmy Zacharias, Amy Catalano, and Early leader Daryl Lewis, Jr.  Winner of the earlier feature, Dave Catalano capped off a great night with a sixth place finish.  Jeff Ruddy (7th), Bobby Holmes (8th), Paul Jeffers (12th), along with Tom Wiest and Andy Jankowiak were among the invaders for the final event in the NASCAR Spencer, Holland, and Chemung challenge series.

The final checkered flag fell at 10:20 p.m., yet the parties went on well into the night.  Check the web site for all of the off season news and updates. 


Spencer Speedway Results – September 9, 2011

Sunoco Modifieds – 35 lap feature rained out September 2, 2011- 18 cars started.

DAVE CATALANO, Kevin Timmerman, Andy Lewis, Amy Catalano, Mike Leaty, Daryl Lewis, Jr., Ryan Beeman, Jake Boerman, Bobby Lippa, Jr., Bobby Holmes, Fred Taylor, Matt Lees, Mark Cline, Scott Combs, Steve Fuchs, Erich Stritzel, John Semmler.  DNS – Timex Morgan.  DQ – Eddie Hawkins.

Heat Winners:  M. Leaty, A. Lewis, K. Timmerman.


Sunoco Modifieds – 100 Lap feature – 24 cars started.

MIKE LEATY, Kevin Timmerman, Jimmy Zacharias, Amy Catalano, Daryl Lewis, Jr., Dave Catalano, Jeff Ruddy, Bobby Holmes, Bobby Lippa, Jr., John Semmler, Jake Boerman, Paul Jeffers, Fred Taylor, Matt Lees, Tom Wiest, Ryan Beeman, Andy Lewis, Andy Jankowiak, Scott Combs, Steve Fuchs, Terry Cheetham, Erich Stritzel, Mark Cline.  DNS – Timex Morgan.  DQ – Eddie Hawkins.

Heats winners:  A. Lewis, E. Stritzel, E. Hawkins, A. Jankowiak.


4-Cylinder Auto Value Scorpions – 15 lap feature - 14 cars started.

KEVIN BERTOLONE, Dave Bradshaw, Zach Willis, Beth Dennie, Bro Bradshaw, Austin Montgomery, Alison Knoepfler, Joe Clark, Mike Bradshaw, Russell Peets, Otis Bradshaw, Dale Lazzaro, Richie Gross, Andrea LaManna.

Heat winners:  K. Bertolone, M. Bradshaw.


Super Stocks – 20 lap feature – 9 cars started.

WILLIE STRUSZ, Mitchell Wright, Billy Gleason, Tom Fecteau, Kris Hillegeer, Tommy Catalano (street stock), Brandon Larner, Brian Gordon, Jay Scott.

Heat Winner: T. Fecteau.


Super Sixes – 20 lap feature – 9 cars started.

BRIAN HALLETT, Chris Andolino, Brandon Allen, Van Grant, Adam VanHall, Tim Faro, Rick Wilson, Ryan Hillegeer, Erick Ruffell.

Heat Winner:  Adam VanHall


Any Track Related Questions Please Contact:
John White (631)745-9805