Press Releases

September 3rd, 2011

WILLIAMSON, NY….The race of the evening was between speedway officials and “Mother Nature”. At 8:45 the rains fell forcing racing to be called for the night, bringing the 2011 points season down to just one race remaining, Friday, September 9.

“We saw on the radar the weather coming. We moved the show along thinking we could beat the rains. All we got to the lap 11 of the Super Sixes feature and then the skies let loose,” stated promoter John White. “We did our best to get a complete show, forgoing even the winner’s interviews, but we fell just short.”

As for the features run, wins went to Tim Faro in the Super Sixes. Faro used an outside pass on lap six to get around Rick Wilson. As the field came down to try and complete lap 12 of 20, the rains fell causing the front runners to lose traction and start spinning. As the lap was not completed the race reverted to lap 11 on the scoreboard.

For Faro it was his sixth feature win in the Super Six division in 2011, and his second in a row. Faro has now clinched the Super Six track championship.

In the Auto Value Four Cylinder Scorpions the win went to point leader Mike Bradshaw. It was Bradshaw’s fifth win in that class in 2011. Bradshaw has all but locked up the Auto Value Scorpion title. He leads Alison Knoepfler, the only driver within striking distance, by 38 points.

Finally in the Super Stocks, Kris Hillegeer returned to victory lane to extend his dominating point lead over the rest of the field. Hillegeer has earned enough points to lock up the 2011 Spencer Speedway Super Stock Championship. His record currently includes six wins in 11 starts.

In the NASCAR Sunoco Modifieds the 2011 Spencer Speedway title has come down to Kevin Timmerman and Mike Leaty. Just 15 points separate thee two going into the final night of racing with two feature races being run.

The Auto Value Scorpions was the first feature on the track. Outside pole sitter, and heat winner, Otis Bradshaw took the early lead in his Acura Integra with Beth Dennie in second and Zach Willis in third.

Dennie was able to make her move on Bradshaw for the lead on lap eight. Following her through the hole left open on the bottom was Willis for second and Bradshaw’s brother Mike moved into third.

Mike Bradshaw was now on the move. On lap 10 he grabbed second from Willis and then set sights on Dennie. As the field exited the second turn on lap 11, Bradshaw ducked low and powered by Dennis for the lead. He then began to pull his Honda Prelude away from the rest of the pack.

At the finish line it was Mike Bradshaw with the win, followed by Willis, Alison Knoepfler, Joe Clark and Otis Bradshaw. Dennie fell out of the front running pack when she drifted high in the fourth turn on the final lap.

The Super Stocks were next up, with Billy Gleason grabbing the early lead over multi-time feature winner Kris Hillegeer and Tom Fecteau. Fecteau may have been running his best race of the season keeping his Chevy Malibu in contention all race long.

Gleason lost the lead to Hillegeer on lap 11, when Hillegeer used the patented low power move exiting the second turn. Hillegeer won followed by Gleason, Fecteau, Mitchell Wright and Jim Steffenhagen Jr. aboard the number 22 normally driven by Willie Strusz.

Pushing the show along the Super Sixes followed the Super Stocks’ checkers onto the speedway. With the green flag, it was Rick Wilson grabbing the lead. As he began to pull away the yellow flew. Kailea Nelson had coasted to a stop at the top of the fourth turn.

The green shown again and a pack of five top runners raced side-by-side with Wilson still in the lead. On lap four Brian Hallett drifted high in the fourth turn and gave up second to Tim Faro. Faro then used the high line to pass Wilson for the lead on lap seven.

Once in front Faro began to pull away from the field. Wilson now had to try and hang onto second as he battled Chris Andolino, Brand Allen and Hallett, now in fifth. Officials could feel rain drops on lap ten. The field made the race official completing the halfway mark in the race.

On lap 12, the field exited the fourth turn and scrambled as cars lost traction down the front stretch due to the wet surface. The yellow flew without the front runners getting the lap in the record book, resulting in reverting back to lap 11’s running order. The rain intensified forcing the flagger to throw the checkers ending the race.

With rains pelting down and the prospects of completing the program looking bleak, the managed had to “pull the plug” on the racing program for the night. The 35-lap Sunoco Modified feature will lead off the program next week at 7 p.m. sharp.

SPENCER NOTES: Track announcer Bill Vandeweghe was back behind the microphone following a week off under doctor’s orders….RoC Sport-modified 100 winner, Bobby Holmes was on hand for the first time at Spencer. He seemed to take to the flat half mile, turning very respectable lap times.

Just one week remain in the 2011 NASCAR Racing resumes at Spencer. Friday, September 9, will feature a full program of NASCAR racing in all divisions. It will also be championship night at the speedway. The Sunoco Modifieds will be running their final Spencer/Chemung/Holland Challenge event of the season at Spencer, a 100-lapper. The first race up is the rain delayed 35-lapper for the Sunoco Modifieds. A planned appearance by the Casey Midgets that night has been canceled. A special start time for the night has been set at 7:00 p.m. sharp. For more information go on Spencer Speedway go to

Spencer Speedway is located just fifteen minutes east of Rochester, NY, along Route 104 in the Town of Williamson. Spencer Speedway is the local “NASCAR Place to Race” for Central New York. Points earned each week at Spencer are counted into the national NASCAR Whelen All-American Points. Just three weeks of racing remain in the 2011 NASCAR season at Spencer.



HEAT 1: O. Bradshaw, B. Dennie, A. Knoepfler, J. Clark, A. Montgomery.

HEAT 2: Z. Willis, K. Bertolone, M. Bradshaw, B. Bradshaw, R. Peets.

FEATURE (15-laps): MIKE BRADSHAW, Zach Willis, Alison Knoepfler, Joe Clark, Otis Bradshaw, Bro Bradshaw, Beth Dennie, Kevin Bertolone, Russell Peets, Dave Bradshaw, Austin Montgomery, Dale Lazzaro, Richie Gross, Alison LaManna


HEAT 1: T. Faro, V. Grant, B. Hallett, A. VanHall, E. Ruffell.

HEAT 2: B. Allen, R. Wilson, C. Andolino, R. Hillegeer, T. Youngs.

FEATURE (11-laps): TIM FARO, Chris Andolino, Rick Wilson, Brandon Allen, Brian Hallett, Adam VanHall, Van Grant, Ryan Hillegeer, Troy Youngs, Kailea Nelson, Denny Coyle, Erick Ruffell.


HEAT: B. Gleason, T. Fecteau, K. Hillegeer, J. Steffenhagen Jr., M. Wright.

FEATURE (20-laps): KRIS HILLEGEER, Billy Gleason, Tom Fecteau, Mitchell Wright, Jim Steffenhagen Jr., Steve Malin, Brandon Larner.


HEAT 1: M. Leaty, D. Catalano, E. Hawkins, J. Boerman, J. London.

HEAT 2: A. Lewis, R. Beeman, T. Morgan, E. Hawkins Sr., S. Combs.

HEAT 3: K. Timmerman, E. Stritzel, B. Lippa Jr., A. Catalano, B. Holmes.

FEATURE: Rain Delayed Feature Line-Up(35-laps): Dave Catalano, Bobby Lippa Jr., Andy Lewis, Erick Stritzel, Eddie Hawkins, Ryan Beeman, Mike Leaty, Timex Morgan, Kevin Timmerman, Jake Boerman, Ed Hawkins Sr., Amy Catalano, Jody London, Scott Combs, Bobby Holmes, Steve Fuchs, Matt Lees, Daryl Lewis Jr., Fred Taylor


Any Track Related Questions Please Contact:
John White (631)745-9805