August 21st, 2015
Leaty And Timmerman Take Down Twin Mod Races, Hutchinson Wins NYPA Midget Race by Gary Spaid

  Twin 35-lap NASCAR Sunoco Modified features topped the racing bill last Friday at Spencer Speedway. Kevin Timmerman picked up the first 35-lapper edging out points leader Mike Leaty.

  “My little girl is here tonight for just the second time this year. It’s a real joy to have her here in victory lane with me,” commented a proud Timmerman.

  The second 35-lap main was won by Mike Leaty, who overcame a poor restart with five to go. Leaty, who took the lead on lap 21, lost out to Daryl Lewis Jr. on that lap 30 restart. Two laps later the yellow flew and this time on the restart Leaty powered his way back into first place and the win.

  “The driver almost really screwed up,” stated Leaty about the lap 30 restart. “I was lucky to have a second try two laps later.”

  A special 15-lap NYRA Midget main event saw East Aurora, NY resident, Kyle Hutchinson sail into the lead and made it look easy to win.

  “We are very fortunate. This is our 6th win this year,” stated Hutchinson. This place is wicked fast. You can hold the pedal to the floor on these long straights and carry that speed into the turns as this place is real wide.” During the race, Hutchinson’s lap times matched those of the Sunoco Modifieds.

  Van Grant won the Super Six feature and Timmy Catalano made it eight wins in nine starts this year in the Auto value Scorpion 4 cylinder division.

  Van Grant related he had to work a “little bit” to get his win. “I really did not want to see that late race caution,” he added. The race ended with a green-white-checker finish going 21 laps in total.

  Timmy Catalano, on the other hand needed a late race caution to catch and pass Mike Hyman for the win. “We needed that late caution. We were definitely running hard tonight, but it’s so much fun racing with these guys each week.”

  The first NASCAR Sunoco Modified feature saw a number of yellows slow the pace. On lap 20 the red flag had to be displayed to allow time for two cars hooked together to be unattached.

  Amy Catalano was the early leader, losing the lead on a lap nine restart to Matt Lees, but quickly rebounding back into the lead again. Kevin Timmerman used a lap 12 restart to power by Catalano for the lead.

Timmerman took the win followed by Mike Leaty, Daryl Lewis Jr., Amy Catalano and Tommy Catalano to round out the top five finishers.

  The second NASCAR Sunoco Modified feature saw a few new competitors join the fray. Tommy Catalano took the early lead. He lost that lead on lap 20, when Mike Leaty used an outside pass, exiting the second turn. Leaty would falter once on a lap 30 restart, but retook the lead a few laps later. Leaty took the win followed by Daryl Lewis Jr., Tommy Catalano, Andy Lewis and Kevin Timmerman.

  The Super Six feature saw just two yellow flags fly. But it was that last one with just one lap remaining that threatened Van Grant’s lead. Grant had taken the lead on lap three and looked to be a show-in for the win. The late caution bunched the field together with a very fast Josh Schoonmaker next to Grant on the restart. Grant held on for the win, with Schoonmaker finishing second. Brandon Allen, Tim Faro and Barrett Schenk rounded out the top five finishers.

  Spencer Speedway would like to congratulate Tim Faro on his wedding, scheduled to take place on Saturday.

  The Auto Value Scorpions 4-cylinders saw Austin Montgomery take the lead at the drop of the green. On lap six, Mike Hyman powered by Montgomery for the lead. Timmy Catalano broke free from the rest of the pack and had to start to chase down Hyman. Catalano’s lucky break came on lap nine when Maddy Verts spun in the fourth turn to bring out the yellow. This bunched the pack together and gave Catalano an opportunity to take the lead from Hyman.

  Catalano took the win with Hyman, Shaun Frarey, Donnie Knapp Jr. and Austin Montgomery finishing as the top five.

  A special NYPA Midget appearance saw Kyle Hutchinson take the lead and pull away from the rest of the field, winning the feature by nearly a full straight away. It was the only appeance this year of the NYPA Midgets at Spencer Speedway.

  SPENCER NOTES: The Spencer Speedway banquet will take place on November 21, 2015 at the Palmyra V.F.W. Tickets are $30 each and can be obtained by contacting Lee DeRidder at the speedway…Only two weeks of NASCAR oval track racing remain at Spencer Speedway this season.

  The kids bicycle races lost to the rain on July 31 have been rescheduled as the first event on August 28. Kids must have a helmet to compete. As for the NASCAR portion of the evening, the Sunoco Modifieds will be joined by the Auto Value Scorpion 4 Cylinders running two features, the Super Sixes and the New York Super Stocks. Due to the full night of racing starting time begins at 7 p.m. sharp with the kids bicycle races followed immediately by the race cars.

  Anyone who brings their ticket stub back the following week gets a $3 discount off an adult or senior ticket.

  Spencer Speedway is located just fifteen minutes east of Rochester, NY, along Route 104 in the Town of Williamson. Spencer Speedway is the local “ NASC AR Place to Race” for Central New York in 2015. Points earned each week at Spencer are counted into the national NASC AR Whelen All-American Points.

  For more information go to:



HEAT 1: K. Hutchinson, A.J. Hessler, C. Haywood, O. Bedhasz, S. McNamara.
HEAT 2: N. Groff, Nelson Rung, Charlie DiRosa, J. Fleishman
FEATURE (15-laps): KYLE HUTCHINSON, Nick Groff, Jim Fleishman, Nelson Rung, Chad Haywood, Owen Bedhasz, A.J. Hessler, Shaun McNamara, Charlie diRosa

HEAT 1: M. Hyman, S. Frarey, A. Montgomery, C. Bolton, T. Alloco.
HEAT 2: D. Knapp Jr., Ti. Catalano, P. Flye, T. Montgomery, B. Dennie.
FEATURE (15-laps): TIMMY CATALANO, Mike Hyman, Shaun Frarey, Donnie Knapp Jr., Austin Montgomery, Paul Flye, Beth Dennie, Travis Montgomery, Jennifer Dennie, Carrie Bolton, Tom Alloco, Maddy Virts.

HEAT 1: J. Schoonmaker, V. Grant, A. VanHall, B. Schenk, B. Mitchell.
HEAT 2: B. Allen, T. Faro, C. Connors, B. Inch, C. Brockman.
FEATURE (21-laps): VAN GRANT, Josh Schoonmaker, Brandon Allen, Tim Faro, Barrett Schenk, Ashley Schoonmaker, Adam VanHall, Rick Wilson Jr., Chris Connors, Bill Mitchell, Bill Inch, Chad Brockman, DNS: Brian Hallett, Bill Malin.

HEAT 1: A. Catalano, M. Leaty, A. Lewis, B. Lippa Jr., T. Wiest.
HEAT 2: D. Lewis Jr., M. Lees, T. Catalano, K. Timmerman, B. Bradshaw.
FEATURE #1 (35-laps): KEVIN TIMMERMAN, Mike Leaty, Daryl Lewis Jr., Amy Catalano, Tommy Catalano, Matt Lees, Andy Lewis, Bobby Lippa Jr., Tim Lewis Jr.
FEATURE #2 (35-laps): MIKE LEATY, Daryl Lewis Jr., Tommy Catalano, Andy Lewis, Kevin Timmerman, Amy Catalano, Bobby Lippa Jr., Matt Lees, Tim Lewis Jr., Bro Bradshaw, Alan Bookmiller, Tom Wiest.

Our Sister Track

Any Track Related Questions Please Contact:
John White
Cell Phone: (631) 745-9805
Summer Track Phone: (315) 589-3018
Winter Track Phone: (631) 722-3800
Spencer Speedway
3020 Route 104, Williamson NY

2011 -2015 © Spencer Speedway