August 14th, 2015
Bill Frisbee Jr. Tops Dave London Memorial, Leaty Wins SUNOCO Mod Main by Gary Spaid

  Its one of the most important Super Stock races of the year, the Dave London 50-lap Memorial. Thanks to Jody London numerous special prizes and awards, totaling almost $6,000, were put together for this race.

  Bill Frisbee Jr., from West Danby, NY was able to take the win, picking up first place money and nearly $2,500 in contingency prizes.

  “That was a good time out there tonight,” Frisbee told the fans in victory lane.

  Before the Super Stocks took to the track the NASCAR Sunoco Modifieds ran their 35-lap feature with Mike Leaty taking the win, his third of the year at Spencer.

  “These guys (his crew) never quit working for me. We feel we are one of two or three cars to beat weekly,” commented Leaty.

  Rains fell following the 50-lap Dave London Memorial as the Auto Value Scorpion 4-cyclinder cars were on their pace lap. This forced officials to cancel the remainder of the evening’s racing. The 4-cyclinder and Super Six features were will run at a future date to be announced.

  The 35-lap Sunoco Modified main event saw Matt Lees take the lead from his pole starting position. Tommy Catalano immediately charged after Lees, but lost second to Leaty a few laps later. Catalano found himself battling with Kevin Timmerman to maintain his third place running position.

  On lap nine, Leaty ducked low exiting the second turn to take the lead from Lees. He began to pull away from Lees when the yellow flew on lap 14. Catalano spun in the fourth turn causing the only caution of the race.

  The restart saw the inside line move out quickly allowing third place Timmerman an opportunity to challenge Lees for second. Lees yielded the position allowing Timmerman and Daryl Lewis Jr. to get by him, falling back to fifth. On lap 20, Lees seem to go high exiting the second turn and slow. This moved him back to ninth.

  Up front Leaty pulled away from Timmerman and Lewis Jr. On lap 26, Lewis Jr. pulled to the outside of Timmerman and completed the pass for second. Lewis Jr. came home a distant second followed by Timmerman, Andy Lewis and Amy Catalano.

  “I want to dedicate this win Rod Spaulding,” stated Leaty in victory lane. “He was a really good guy, a racer and someone I will really miss at the race track.”

  The 50-lap Dave London Memorial for Super Stocks saw 21 cars take the green. The outside pole sitter, J.R. Mooney grabbed the early lead with Tommy Catalano in second. Before the lap could be completed, Tim Gullo, who started third, slid off the backstretch causing the yellow to fly.

  The restart saw Mooney complete the lap in the lead. The yellow flew on lap three when Mark Ramsey and Dale Lazzaro came together and spun in the first turn. Both returned to the back of the field.

  Bill Frisbee Jr. was able to grab the lead on the restart from Mooney. On lap 10, the number 81 of Scott Wylie coasted to a stop on the track as he tried to get back to the pits, causing the yellow to fly a second time.

  A brief shower caused the yellow to come out on lap 18. The cars remained on the track and the race was able to continue. Gary Noe now found himself challenging Frisbee for the lead. Noe was scored the leader on lap 19, but lost the lead back to Frisbee two laps later.

  Dakota Packman spun in the fourth turn on lap 25, as the field reached the halfway marker. The restart saw Frisbee as the leader followed by Noe, Catalano, Nate Peckham and Jim Steffenhagen Jr.

  The restart saw Noe retake the lead following a short yellow on lap 29.

  The worst accident of the race came on lap 32, when Catalano, in fourth, spun exiting the fourth turn. He collected Joe Mankuso, who was running sixth. Catalano returned immediately, while Mankuso lost two laps in the pits.

  This time Frisbee took the lead from Noe and never looked back. Gullo was now running in second following his early race spin. Suddenly on lap 41, Gullo slowed causing the yellow to fly and allowing Peckham to grab second.

  On the restart Noe retook second from Peckham. As the checkers flew over Frisbee, the rest of the top five were Noe, Peckham, Mooney and Chris Vogler. Fourteen of the 21 cars starting the race were still around at the checkers.

  SPENCER NOTES: The Spencer Speedway banquet will take place on November 21, 2015 at the Palmyra V.F.W. Tickets are $30 each and can be obtained by contacting Lee DeRidder at the speedway….The kids bicycle races lost to the rain on July 31 have been rescheduled to August 28 starting at 7:00 p.m. Kids must have a helmet to compete.

  Friday, August 21 will see the NASCAR Sunoco Modifieds with their regularly scheduled feature followed by the Super Sixes and Auto Value Scorpions. Also on the race card are the NYPA Midgets. Race time starts a half hour earlier at 7:00 p.m.

  Anyone who brings their ticket stub back the following week gets a $3 discount off an adult or senior ticket

  Spencer Speedway is located just fifteen minutes east of Rochester, NY, along Route 104 in the Town of Williamson. Spencer Speedway is the local “ NASC AR Place to Race” for Central New York in 2015. Points earned each week at Spencer are counted into the national NASC AR Whelen All-American Points.

  For more information go to:



HEAT 1: S. Frarey, M. Hyman, A. Montgomery, T. Montgomery, C. Bolton.
HEAT 2: Ti. Catalano, D. Knapp Jr., B. Dennie, T. Alloco, P. Flye
FEATURE (15-laps): Rain Delayed TBA

HEAT 1: A. VanHall, T. Faro, B. Mitchell, B. Schenk, B. Hallett.
HEAT 2: J. Schoonmaker, B. Allen, B. Inch, R. Wilson, C. Brockman.
FEATURE (20-laps): Rain Delayed TBA

HEAT 1: T. Gullo, G. Noe, B. Frisbee Jr., C. Vogler, S. Wylie.
HEAT 2: T. Catalano, J.R. Mooney, J. Mankuso, R. Fink, D. Bancroft.
HEAT 3: S. Malin, M. Wright, J. Steffenhagen Jr., J. Dinzler, D. Packman.
FEATURE (50-laps): BILL FRISBEE JR., Gary Noe, Nathan Peckham, J.R. Mooney, Chris Vogler, Jim Steffenhagen Jr., Jason Dinzler, Mitchell Wright, Dylan Bancroft, Shaun Frarey, Dale Lazzaro, Dakota Packman, Mike Scott, Joe Mankuso, Tim Gullo, Zach Willis, Robert Fink, Tommy Catalano, Steve Malin, Mark Ramsey, Scott Wylie, DNS: Willie Strusz.

HEAT 1: M. Leaty, T. Catalano, E. Hawkins, T. Lewis Jr., M. Ramos.
HEAT 2: K. Timmerman, M. Lees, D. Lewis Jr., A. Lewis, A. Catalano.
FEATURE (35-laps): MIKE LEATY, Daryl Lewis Jr., Kevin Timmerman, Andy Lewis, Amy Catalano, Tommy Catalano, Eddie Hawkins, Tim Lewis Jr., Billy Semmler, Mike Ramos, Matt Lees, DNS: Bobby Lippa Jr.

Our Sister Track

Any Track Related Questions Please Contact:
John White
Cell Phone: (631) 745-9805
Summer Track Phone: (315) 589-3018
Winter Track Phone: (631) 722-3800
Spencer Speedway
3020 Route 104, Williamson NY

2011 -2015 © Spencer Speedway