August 7th, 2015
Daryl Lewis Wins 61st Anniversary Event by Gary Spaid

  Daryl Lewis Jr. earned his eleventh Spencer Speedway career victory last Friday in a big way, winning the 61-lap anniversary Richie Evans Memorial. Lewis, who had not won since June 27, 2014, was ecstatic in victory lane. “This is awesome.” He said as he paced and waved the checkered flag in the air. “We have been struggling all year. Even tonight we struggled in our heat race. This is awesome.”

  In the Super Six division, Barrett Schenk, who won on opening night, came back to win his second feature of the year. He held off a charging Brandon Allen at the finish line. “My legs are a bit cramped, but this feels good,” he related to the crowd on hand.

  Timmy Catalano won feature number seven, of eight the Auto Value 4-Cylinder Scorpion races run at Spencer this year. Catalano set a fast time on the white flag lap of 24.69 seconds around the flat half mile oval. “This car has been working well, so we have not had to change much.”

  The 61-lap Sunoco Modified main event began with driver introductions and each driver greeting the crowd with their thoughts in a short interview. Handicapping had placed Matt lees and Bobby Lippa Jr. on the front row. At the drop of the green, Lees stormed into the lead and began to pull away from the field when the yellow flag flew for the one and only caution of the race. Andy Lewis looped his number 65 around in the second turn.

  The race resumed with Lees in front and Daryl Lewis Jr, taking second from Lippa. On lap 10, Lewis Jr. tried the outside line around Lees but fell short of completing the pass. At the same time Mike Leaty, running fourth, ducked low to take third from Lippa. Lewis was finally able to complete his pass for the lead in the third turn on lap 13.

  Lewis Jr. now had Lees between himself and former track champion Leaty, giving him time to start to build a lead. Leaty would dog Lees until lap 34 when he finally made a low side pass of lees to take second. By this time Lewis Jr. had pulled away from the field leading by some fifteen car lengths over Leaty.

  A real battle then developed for third through fifth involving Lees, Andy Lewis and Kevin Timmerman. With just ten laps to go Andy Lewis had secured third followed by Timmerman and now Tommy Catalano in fifth.

  The race would remain in this order at the finish line with Lewis Jr. taking the win. Mike Leaty, Andy Lewis, Kevin Timmerman and Tommy Catalano rounded out the top five finishers.

  The Super Six 20-lap feature saw Bill Malin take the early lead. The yellow flag flew on lap four when Van Grant was sent sideway exiting the fourth turn following contact with Tim Faro. Faro had to pit with front end damage.

  The restart saw Brandon Allen power by Malin for the lead, but moving quickly through the field was Barrett Schenk. Schenk pulled along-side of Allen on lap nine and at the halfway mark grabbed the lead. From that point on it was smooth sailing for Schenk who earned his second feature win of the year. Allen held on for a strong second place finish. Following Allen across the finish line were Josh Schoonmaker, Grant and Mullin.

  The Four Cylinder Auto Value Scorpion 15-lap main event got off to a rocky start when five cars were sent spinning off the speedway surface in the first turn. The race had to be restarted with Carrie Schoonmaker and Beth Dennie in the pits.

  Tom Alloco took the lead on the restart but on lap two his car came to a sudden stop in the fourth turn with a flat front tire, sending the field scrambling trying to miss his disabled car. He was able to be towed to the pits and change tires before the green flag flew again.

  Travis Montgomery found himself in the lead on the restart, only to lose the lead to Mike Hyman on lap three. Hyman would then be passed three laps later by Timmy Catalano. Donnie Knapp Jr. would follow Catalano and take second from Hyman. Catalano began to build a significant lead over Knapp. Shaun Frarey found himself in third and in hot pursuit of both Catalano and Knapp.

  At the finish it was Catalano, Knapp Jr., Frarey, Hyman and Travis Montgomery rounding out the top five.

  SPENCER NOTES: The rain-delayed Sunoco Modified feature from July 31, will be run on August 21st…A delayed victory lane interview from July 31 took place following the Super Six feature. Ashley Schoonmaker was not able to get her victory lane celebration due to the heavy rain that shortened the feature by a lap. She reviled that she had injured her shoulder in the accident at the finish line that gave her the win…. It was announced that Richie Evans was going to be inducted into the Watkins Glen “Walk of Fame” in September. This honor is open to drivers would competed at the Glen. Evans participated in a modified race there in 1976….The Spencer Speedway banquet will take place on November 21, 2015 at the Palmyra V.F.W. Tickets are $30 each and can be obtained by contacting Lee DeRidder at the speedway.

  The evening ended with a giant fireworks display sponsored by Galaxy Concessions.

  Friday, August 14 will see the track celebrating with the annual Dave London Memorial 50, featuring the New York Super Stocks. The NASCAR Sunoco Modifieds running their 35-lap feature event. Joining the action to make a full night of racing will be the Super Sixes and Auto Value Scorpions. Race time starts at 7:30 p.m.

  Anyone who brings their ticket stub back the following week gets a $3 discount off an adult or senior ticket

  Spencer Speedway is located just fifteen minutes east of Rochester, NY, along Route 104 in the Town of Williamson. Spencer Speedway is the local “ NASC AR Place to Race” for Central New York in 2015. Points earned each week at Spencer are counted into the national NASC AR Whelen All-American Points.

  For more information go to:



FEATURE (15-laps): TIMMY CATALANO, Donnie Knapp Jr., Shaun Frarey, Mike Hyman, Travis Montgomery, Austin Montgomery, Tom Alloco, Carrie Bolton, Ryan Brown, Maddy Virts, Carrie Schoonmaker, Beth Dennie.

HEAT 1: B. Schenk, B. Allen, B. Mitchell, A. VanHall, A. Cocilova.
HEAT 2: T. Faro, V. Grant, B. Inch, B. Malin, A. Schoonmaker.
FEATURE (20-laps): BARRETT SCHENK, Brandon Allen, Josh Schoonmaker, Van Grant, Bill Malin, Andy Cocilova, Ashley Schoonmaker, Bill Inch, Chris Connors, Adam VanHall, Bill Mitchell, Rick Wilson, Ryan Hillegeer, Tim Faro, Brian Hallett.

HEAT 1: A. Catalano, M. Leaty, M. Lees, T. Catalano, M. Ramos.
HEAT 2: B. Lippa Jr., A. Lewis, K. Timmerman, D. Lewis Jr.
FEATURE (61-laps): DARYL LEWIS JR., Mike Leaty, Andy Lewis, Kevin Timmerman, Tommy Catalano, Amy Catalano, Matt Lees, Bobby Lippa Jr., Mike Ramos

Our Sister Track

Any Track Related Questions Please Contact:
John White
Cell Phone: (631) 745-9805
Summer Track Phone: (315) 589-3018
Winter Track Phone: (631) 722-3800
Spencer Speedway
3020 Route 104, Williamson NY

2011 -2015 © Spencer Speedway