June 28th
Super Six, Auto Value 4 Cylinders,
INEX Legends, Bandoleros


  June 21st, 2013
Mike Leaty Wins RoC At Spencer; Wright, Willis, Allen And Norton Are All Winners by Gary M. Spaid

  Mike Leaty ruled his hometown speedway, picking up the victory last Friday in the RoC Modified main event at Spencer Speedway. Leaty picked up the lead on lap 28, after leader Daren Scherer looped around entering the third turn on his own.

  Leaty’s win ended a three race RoC victory streak by Matt Hirschman. Hirschman’s race came to an end on lap 65, when trying to pass Chuck Hossfeld on the high side, found himself airport landing on top of the back stretch wall and flipping up and over, out of the speedway. Hirschman was not injured and charging across the track to confront Hossfeld, who was parked on the front stretch under a red flag. Hossfeld avoided any confrontation by simply driving away from Hirschman. As for Hossfeld he was disqualified from the race and has to wait further sanctioning by the RoC officials.

  Seven yellows and two red flags slowed the racing action. The tough luck award would have to go to Andy Jankowiak, who ran second to Leaty for some 40 laps. On the final lap, exiting the second turn, Jankowiak lost the handle and looped his car around in the infield grass. He gathered it up and still returned to finish eighth.

  Following Mike Leaty across the finish line were Bobby Holmes, Jan Leaty, and heat winners Daren Scherer and Karl Huhr rounding out the top five finishers.

  For Leaty it was his 14th career full blown modified feature win at Spencer. His last NASCAR Modified feature win came on June 19, 2009 . He now sits 14th on the all time Spencer win list tied with T.J. Potrzebowski.

  In supporting action to the RoC event, Mitchell Wright won his first Super Stock feature of the season.

  Only four cars were on hand for the race. Joe Miller hounded Wright from some 12 laps, only to push too hard and spin out in the third turn. This moved Willie Strusz into the runner up position. He was also unable to catch Wright. The victory was Wright’s fourth career win at Spencer. Wright also won his heat race.
In Super Six action Brandon Allen took the lead at the drop of the green and won his very first feature in this division. Allen had to hold off a late race charge by Van Grant, who started last on the field. Following Allen and Grant across the finish line was last year’s divisional champion, Tim Faro. Brian Hallett and Adam VanHall rounded out the top five finishers.

  Allen attributed his work last summer for a race team out of Moorseville , NC , with helping him better himself as a racer.

  Bryce Norton ended a two race win streak by Brad Salatino in the INEX Legends division. Salatino finished fourth in the feature.

  Norton took the lead at the drop of the green holding off Brett Coon. On lap seven the yellow flew when fourth place runner, Taylor Doxtater slowed to a stop on the back stretch. Norton continued to lead all 15 laps to take the win, his second career feature win at Spencer. Following Norton across the finish line were Coon, Brad Salatino, Devin Thornton and Josh Marchese.

  In Auto Value Scorpion 4-cyclinder action it was Zach Willis making it three wins in a row, remaining undefeated on the season at Spencer. His win bolted him from 13th on the all time Spencer Auto Value Scorpion win list at the start of the season, into sixth overall.

  Russell Peets was the early leader in the feature, but lost his advantage to Willis on lap three. Peets then found himself in a five car battle for second with Joe Clark, Kevin Bertolone, Alison Knoepfler and Shawn Frarey. While these drivers were all trying to gain second, Willis drove away from the field, eventually building up a 20 car advantage over second place finisher Joe Clark. Peets came home third followed by Frarey and Bertolone.

  “I was lucky to get away from everyone tonight,” stated a happy Willis in victory lane. “All I felt all night was the heat building up inside of my car.”

  At intermission many of the drivers took up a collection to help young Jessie Hebing, the daughter of Wilbur Hebing. Two weeks ago, on a family trip into Pennsylvania , the youngster suffer a blood clot and bleeding on the brain, Jessie was rushed to the hospital where a four hour surgery took place to relief pressure on her brain. She then spent three days in the ICU and another three days in recovery. She has been responding well and in time is expected to make a full recovery. The driver collection netted $963.44.

  Before the start of auto racing the first “Kids Bicycle Races” of the year took place. In the five and under class Caelum McCafferty, from Webster, took the win. In the six to nine year old age group, the win went to Ty English of Henrietta. Derek Duffy, from Newark , won the ten and older class. Congratulations to the many youngsters that participated in this popular event.

  This coming Friday, June 28, the Sunoco Modified will be running twin features. The first will be a 35-lapper, followed by a double point 40-lapper. The Super Stocks will be making up their rained out 51-lap Big 10 Street Stock feature. Filling out the race card will be the Super Sixes, Four Cylinder Scorpions and INEX Legends. Race time had to be moved forward to 7:00 p.m. sharp due to the extra events
If you bring the ticket stub from this past weekend you can save a couple of dollars on next week’s admission price.

  Spencer Speedway is located just fifteen minutes east of Rochester , NY , along Route 104 in the Town of Williamson . Spencer Speedway is the local “ NASCAR Place to Race” for Central New York in 2013. Points earned each week at Spencer are counted into the national NASCAR Whelen All-American Points.



HEAT 1: J. Clark, S. Frarey, R. Peets, J. Dennie, T. Alloco.
HEAT 2: Z. Willis, A. Knoepfler, K. Bertolone, B. Dennie, C. Bolton.
FEATURE (15-laps): ZACH WILLIS, Joe Clark, Russell Peets, Shawn Frarey, Kevin Bertolone, Allison Knoepfler, Beth Dennie, Tom Alloco, Carrie Bolton, Jennifer Dennie, Tyler Pratt, Ashley Schoonmaker.

B. Norton, T. Doxtator, B. Coon, B. Salatino, D. Thornton.
FEATURE (15-laps): BRYCE NORTON, Brett Coon, Brad Salatino, Devin Thornton, Josh Marchese, Cassie McGrath, Taylor Doxtator.

HEAT: B. Allen, A. VanHall, V. Grant, T. Faro, B. Hallett
FEATURE (15-laps): BRANDON ALLEN, Van Grant, Tim Faro, Brian Hallett, Adam VanHall, Barrett Schenk, Keith Butler Jr., Jay Elhage, Ryan Hillegeer.

M. Wright, W. Strusz, J. Miller, B. Larner.
FEATURE (15-laps): MITCHELL WRIGHT, Willie Strusz, Brandon Larner, Joe Miller.

RoC (Unofficial Finish)
Heat wins went to Putney, Scherer and Huhr
FEATURE (75-laps): MIKE LEATY, Bobby Holmes, Jan Leaty, Daren Scherer, Karl Huhr, Brandon Oltra, Tom my Cloce, Andy Jankowiak, T.J. Potrzebowski, Ed die Hawkins, Billy Putney, Matt Hirschman, David Koroleski, Ricky Knapp Jr., Doug Reaume, Nick Pecko, Austin Kochenash, DSQ- Chuck Hossfeld, DNS-Pete Brittan.

Our Sister Track

Any Track Related Questions Please Contact:
John White
Cell Phone: (631) 745-9805
Summer Track Phone: (315) 589-3018
Winter Track Phone: (631) 722-3800
Spencer Speedway
3020 Route 104, Williamson NY

2011 -2013 © Spencer Speedway