Press Releases

  December 6th, 2012
Spencer Speedway Honors Champions
  by John Flock

  Rusty Smith took top honors in the NASCAR Sunoco Modified division at John White’s Spencer Speedway oval. In thirteen point races, Rusty racked up three wins, 10 top fives, and 13 top ten finishes. Smith not only took the big trophy, but also took the microphone and brought laughter to the crowded hall. “I stopped running at Chemung Speedrome (another John White Speedway) and moved our Friday racing to Spencer. Instead of a 20 minute ride to Chemung, We towed two hours north to Spencer Speedway. Boy, I guess that we really showed them,” laughed a smiling Smith. Rusty has a promising career as an announcer when his driving days are done. Worthy challengers Kevin Timmerman (2 wins), Mike Leaty (2), Tony Hanbury (2), and steady runner Ryan Beeman earned the top five spots in the final NASCAR tally. The top ten included speedway regulars Eddie Hawkins, Matt Lees, Daryl Lewis Jr., Rookie of the Year Tommy Catalano and Andy Lewis.

 The Super Stock division struggled with car counts with less than ten competitors making the majority of the shows. Two special events drew 18 and 24 cars respectively, adding promise of higher car counts in the 2013 season. Terry Cheetham dedicated his championship run to his father. Win he did, with eight victories and 13 top ten finishes in the 13 race season. Mitchell Wright (2 wins), Brandon Larner, Willie Strusz (1) and Billy Gleason (1) fought to top five point standing finishes. The top ten drivers included Brian Gordon, Steve Malin, Jim Steffenhagen Jr. (1), John Avery, and Joe Miller.

 The “Super Six” division features front wheel drive, V-6 sedans. Brian Hallett had command of the field and earned seven wins, a dozen top five finishes and 14 top ten markers. Pontiac Grand Prix was the vehicle of choice, with a single Buick Regal and a lone Ford Taurus earning top ten spots. Brandon Allen, Adam VanHall, Van Grant (3), and Erick Ruffell filled out the top five point earners. Tim Faro (3), Rookie Hugh Vine Jr., Rick Wilson (1), Denny Coyle and Rookie Jeff Davis completed the top ten.

 The rock-em, sock-em Auto Value Scorpion 4-cylinders showed that seven of the top ten runners earned feature victories. Car makes included Honda, Acura, Nissan, Chevy Cavalier, and yes, a Ford Pinto and a Mustang. Honda pilot Mike Bradshaw was crowned the champion with 4 victories. Kevin Bertolone (2), Joe Clark (1), Zach Willis (1) and Alison Knoepfler (3) finished in the top five spots. Rookie Shawn Frarey, Dave Bradshaw (2), Beth Dennie, Russell Peets, and Bro Bradshaw (1) finished into the top ten positions.

 The INEX Legends division visited Spencer Speedway for a half dozen special shows this season. Brett Coon raced in a six events earning one feature and 6 top five finishes. Brian Vilardo IV (3), Brad Salatino, Brice Norton (1), and John Bacon all earned top five placements. National Legends Champion Matt Pappa made a single appearance for an INEX regional event and took home that victory.

 After the award ceremonies, drivers, crews, families and officials shared stories well into the evening. (Even some of them were true!)

Any Track Related Questions Please Contact:
John White (631)745-9805