Press Releases

  September 28th, 2012
Racing Season At Spencer Will End One Day Later Then Planned
  by Gary M. Spaid

  The 2012 racing season will have to be extended one more day as a late afternoon rain shower damped the track surface to a point the track maintenance crew was unable to bring the track back to safe racing conditions.

  The 2012 oval track season will now come to an end on Saturday evening, September 29. Due to town ordinances no afternoon racing would be allowed, so the race time will remain at 7 p.m. sharp.

  “We feel really bad that fans and competitors traveled great distances only to be rained out,” stated promoter John White. “The track conditions would not have been safe for the drivers and we just don’t want to compromise safety. I sure the fans will agree with that. And the fact is we just don’t control the weather.”

  One of the largest fields of cars was on hand before the rains fell. The kids also were given the opportunity at the “Kids, Coins and Candy” activity, which was held behind the grandstands while officials were discussing the track conditions.

  Track points ended on August 31. The following are the final top ten in track points.

  Final Top Ten in Sunoco Modified Tack Points: 1) Rusty Smith 847, 2) Kevin Timmerman 759, 3) Mike Leaty 750, 4) Tony Hanbury 713, 5) Ryan Beeman 710, 6) Eddie Hawkins 677, 7) Matt Lees 656, 8) Daryl Lewis Jr. 634, 9) Tommy Catalano 623, 10) Andy Lewis 613.

  Final Top Ten in Super Stock Tack Points: 1) Terry Cheetham 925, 2) Mitchell Wright 850, 3) Brandon Larner 566, 4) Willie Strusz 538, 5) Billy Gleason 500, 6) Brian Gordon 346, 7) Steve Malin 256, 8) Jim Steffenhagen Jr. 178, 9) John Avery 149. 10) Joe Miller 126.

  Final Top Ten in Super Six Tack Points: 1) Brian Hallett 960, 2) Brandon Allen 784, 3) Adam VanHall 742, 4) Van Grant 733, 5) Erick Ruffell 710, 6) Tim Faro 702, 7) Hugh Vine Jr. 688, 8) Rick Wilson 680, 9) Denny Coyle 438, 10) Jeff Davis 360.

  Final Top Ten in Auto Value Scorpion Tack Points: 1) Mike Bradshaw 930, 2) Kevin Bertolone 807, 3) Joe Clark 779, 4) Zach Willis 777, 5) Alison Knoepfler 763, 6) Shawn Frarey 751, 7) Dave Bradshaw 722, 8) Beth Dennie 706, 9) Russell Peets 705, 10) Bro Bradshaw 574.

  Spencer Speedway is located just fifteen minutes east of Rochester, NY, along Route 104 in the Town of Williamson. Spencer Speedway is the local “NASCAR Place to Race” for Central New York. Points earned each week at Spencer are counted into the national NASCAR Whelen All-American Points.

Any Track Related Questions Please Contact:
John White (631)745-9805